Walking the Walk

April 13, 2007

Posting has been terribly light of late for a few good reasons:

1. Wading through the daily e-mail blast from the LeftLibertarian2 Yahoo Group eats a lot of evening free time that doesn’t involve playing with my kids, eating or sleeping. Don’t get me wrong, I love the list and it has some amazing threads, but there are a lot of them. Great reading.

2. I have given up being a wage-slave and started my own consulting business. I’m still doing what I always did, but now I am an independent IT consultant with a long-term contract and a great per diem. More money, more freedom, less taxes. Why didn’t I do this years ago? (Oh yeah, I wasn’t a market anarchist back then)

So I am quite busy between these two things, especially establishing my business and taking a small step to living the anarchist and agorist ideal.

7 Responses to “Walking the Walk”

  1. Treehugger Says:

    Good luck with the business Mike. Being a slave to the corporate world is killing me right now and I admire your taking the step to self employment.

  2. Werner Says:

    I agree. I hate working for other people. Best wishes on your consulting business. This is something that anarchists should consider working on. Like, let’s say, a practical guide on self-employment that isn’t full of government “helping person” bullshit.

  3. theconverted Says:

    Thanks guys…being in IT it really wasn’t that difficult a decision. Its a pretty common thing in my field, the tax breaks are great and I do already have my first contract set up…so now I just need to grow smartly…

    Its quite exciting.

    And yeah, trying to live up to my anarchist ideals was one of the things that drove me to do it. That and getting screwed around at my last job (good company, bad partner leading the practice…)


  4. […] Mike at theConverted writes about something I’ve been meaning to mention: 1. Wading through the daily e-mail blast from the LeftLibertarian2 Yahoo Group eats a lot of evening free time that doesn’t involve playing with my kids, eating or sleeping. Don’t get me wrong, I love the list and it has some amazing threads, but there are a lot of them. Great reading. […]

  5. Jeremy Says:

    Good luck consulting! You’d be doing me a favor if you kept us up to date on what that’s like, since I’ve thought of going down that route before.

    I have finally reached the point myself where LL2 is completely out of hand, and I can’t keep up with it. Shame.

  6. nastyboy Says:

    I went the consulting route six years ago. Now I make double the money in half the time and spend 6 months out of the year doing anything but work.

    It’s a tough life.


  7. […] Left-Libertarian and Politics Tags: Libertarian, libertarianism, Politics Mike at theConverted writes about something I’ve been meaning to mention: 1. Wading through the daily e-mail blast […]


Leave a Reply

